top of page

What is a Four-Point Inspection?

Updated: Aug 27, 2022

What exactly is a four-point inspection? A four-point inspection is an inspection of the four basic components of a home - roof, electrical, hvac, and plumbing. Insurance companies use this information to determine if the home is insurable. A four-point inspection applies to both new home buyers and existing home owners looking to purchase insurance or update their current policy. Most four-point inspections are required on homes 30 years or older; however, some insurance companies will request a four-point inspection on homes that are 20 or even 10 years old. An important piece of information to keep in mind is that a four-point inspection is not a full home inspection. Home inspections are for real estate transactions while four-point inspections are for insurance underwriting.

Ask your insurance provider if your home requires a four-point inspection. For more information or to schedule an appointment, contact Vantage Point Home Inspection Service.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page